The origin of the name of Tripura is still a matter of controversy among historians and researchers.

According to the 'Rajmala', Tripura's celebrated court chronicle, an ancient king named 'Tripur' ruled over the territorial domain known as 'Tripura' and the name of the kingdom was derived from his name. A school of historians, however, challenge this story and identify 'Tripur' as an imaginary and ahistorical character.

Many researchers explain the name 'Tripura' from its etymological origin: the word 'Tripura' is a compound of two separate words, 'Tui' (water) + 'Pra' (near) which in totality means 'near water'. The geographical location of the state with it's close proximity to the vast water resources of Eastern Bengal (present Bangladesh) coupled with the generic identity of the state's original inhabitants as 'Tipra' or 'Twipra' apparently justify this explanation of the state's name. Except 'Rajmala' there is no authentic document to base Tripura's history upon even though a plethora of archaeological and numismatic evidences have helped reconstruct the history of the state over the past five centuries.

The early history of the kingdom of Tripura is a complex blend of history with mythology .According to 'Rajmala' Tripura's royal house trace their origin to the celebrated 'lunar' dynasty, following in the footsteps of their counterparts in the Hindu royal houses of the rest of India who claim to have originated from the 'lunar' or 'solar' dynasty. Thus we have on the authority of 'Rajmala' that mythological prince Druhya, third son of king Yayati of 'Mahabharatha', moved eastward along the lower course of the Ganges before reaching the Sagar island in the Sundarbans .

Finally he obtained safe asylum in the hermitage of 'Kapil Muni' and with the saintly blessing Druhya set up a kingdom called 'Tribeg' along the lower course of the mighty 'Brahmaputra'. Later Druhya undertook northeastward expansion of his kingdom across Assam along the upper course of the river and shifted his capital . Again according to 'Rajmala', Druhya , the founder king , was succeeded by nearly two hundred mythological rulers. But the mythology or legend appears to have assumed grand proportions around the character of 'Tripur', the fortieth ruler from Druhya's direct line of succession

Tripur's acts of perfidy and persecution of people made his subjects seek intervention from 'Mahadeva', the Hindu God of War, who finally killed him. With 'Mahadeva's blessing Queen Hirabati gave birth to a virtuous king Trilochan who is believed to have attended the 'Rajsuya' sacrifice organized by the celebrated Pandava ruler Yudhisthira of the 'Mahabharatha'. However, Trilochan's successors subsequently retreated from their orginal royal domain and settled down in the present state of Tripura.

The historicity and chronology of the early kings of Tripura, referred to in 'Rajmala', are open to questions. Any detailed description of the role and activities of the early rulers is conspicuous by absence from the chronicle. There is a list of 179 rulers beginning with the mythological king Druhya and ending with the last coronated king Kirit Bikram Kishore Manikya who is currently a non resident Tripurite. The most important point to note in judging the authenticity of the genealogy of Tripura's royalty-as referred to in 'Rajmala'- is that the very existence of the rulers from Druhya (1) to Khicangfa (136) is in question.

A major trimming of the long list, at least from 1 to 135 seems to be required to recover history from mythology, particularly in view of the absence of archaeological , epigraphic and numismatic evidences. However, it is pertinent to mention that there is indeed a reference to a state called Tripura in the Mahabharatha but according to the description in the epic the place seems to point to a country near 'Koshala' in the vicinity of modern Jabalpur town in Madhya Pradesh. Apart from this, the famous Chinese traveller and pilgrim Yuan Chwang or Hiuen Tsang who arrived in the then Kamrup kingdom (modern Assam) in the year C. 642-43 noted the names of all the kingdoms contemporaneous with the then Assam but any reference to Tripura is conspicuous by absence from the travelogue left by him to posterity. Quite naturally, this casts a deep shadow over the authenticity of the early history of Tripura associated by modern scholars with mythology.

1. Druhya 2. Babru 3. Setu
4. Anarta 5. Gandhara 6. Dharma
7. Dhrita 8. Durmad 9. Praceta
10 Paraci 11. Parabasu 12. Parishad
13. Arijit 14. Sujit 15. Pururaba
16. Bibarna 17. Purusen 18. Meghabarman
19. Bikarna 20. Basuman 21. Kirti
22. Kanian 23. Pratisraba 24. Pratisha
25. Satrujit 26. Pratardhan 27. Pramath
28. Kalinda 29. Krama 30. Mitrari
31. Baribarha 32. Karmuk 33. Kalinga
34. Bhishan 35. Bhanumitra 36. Citrasen
37. Citrarath 38. Citrayudha 39. Daitya
40. Tripur 41. Trilochan 42. Dakshin
43. Taydakshin 44. Sudakshin 45. Tardakshin
46. Dharmataru 47. Dharmapal 48. Sadharma
49. Tarbanga 50. Debanga 51. Naranjit
52. Dharmangal 53. Rukmangal 54. Somangal
55. Nauyogray 56. Tarjung 57. Rajdharma
58. Hamraj 59. Birraj 60. Sriraj
61. Sriman 62. Lakshmitaru 63. Rupban
64. Lakshmiban 65. Nageswar 66. Jogeswar
67. Nildhwaj 68. Basuraj 69. Dhanrajfa
70. Harihar 71. Candrasekhar 72. Candraraj
73. Tripali 74. Sumanta 75. Rupabanta
76. Tarhom 77. Hariraj 78. Kasiraj
79. Madhav 80. Candraraj 81. Gajeswar
82. Birraj 83. Nageswar 84. Sikhiraj
85. Debraj 86. Dhusharanga 87. Barakirti
88. Sagarfa 89. Malaycandra 90 Suryanarayan
91. Indra Kirti 92. Birsinha 93. Surendra
94. Bimar 95. Kumar 96. Sukumar
97. Bircandra 98. Rajyeswar 99. Nageshwar
100. Taichangfa 101. Narendra 102. Indrakirti
103. Biman 104. Jasoraj 105. Banga
106. Gangaraj 107. Citrasen 108. Pratit
109. Marici 110. Gagan 111. Kirti
112. Himti 113. Rajendra 114. Partha
115. Sevray 116. Dharmafa 117. Ramcandra
118. Nrisingha 119. Lalitray 120. Mukundafa
121. Kamalray 122. Krishnadas 123. Josaraj
124. Uddhav 125. Sadhuray 126. Pratapray
127. Vishnuprasad 128. Baneswar 129. Birbahu
130. Samrat 131. Campakeswar 132. Meghraj
133. Dharmadhar 134. Kirtidhar 135. Acangfa
136. Khichangfa 137. Dangarfa 138. Rajafa
139. Ratna Manikya 140. Pratap Manikya 141. Mukul Manikya
142. Maha Manikya 143. Dharma Manikya 144. Pratap Manikya
145. Dharma Manikya 146. Dhwaja Manikya 147. Dev Manikya
148. Indra Manikya 149. Vijay Manikya 150. Ananta Manikya
151. Uday Manikya 152. Jay Manikya 153. Amar Manikya
154. Rajdhar Manikya 155. Jasodhar Manikya 156. Kalyan Manikya
157. Govinda Manikya 158. Chatra Manikya 159. Ramdev Manikya
160. Ratna II 161. Narendra Manikya 162. Mahendra Manikya
163. Dharma II 164. Mukunda Manikya 165. Jay Manikya
166. Indra II 167. Vijay II 168. Krishna Manikya
169. Rajdhar Manikya 170. Ramganga Manikya 171. Durga Manikya
172. Kasicandra Manikya 173. Krishnakisor Manikya 174. Isan Manikya
175. Birchandra Manikya 176. Radhakisor Manikya 177. Birendra Kisor Manikya
178. Bir Bikram Kisor Manikya 179. Kirit Bikram Kisor Manikya 180. Pradyot Kishore Manikya


For More Recent Information Please Click Here